English Italian
Latest News



The PLIDA (Progetto Lingua Italiana Dante Alighieri - Dante Alighieri Italian Language Project) certificate is an official diploma issued by the Societa’ Dante Alighieri based on a convention of the Italian Ministry of Foreign Affairs and with the approval of “La Sapienza” University in Rome; the PLIDA diploma is also recognized by the Italian Ministry of Labour and Social Policies, and by the Italian Ministry of Universities and Research as a qualification for university exemption under particular conditions for foreign students.It is aimed at testing and certifying  the competence levels in Italian language of foreigners, comparable to students of first language Italian.

There are six levels;  ranging from A1 being the most basic, to C2 being the most qualified. The PLIDA certificate is attained by attending a two week preparatory course followed by an examination. The PLIDA certification is the only certified exam to ascertain the Italian language proficiency and is a recognized diploma in Italy.


Language proficiency is tested on various levels. (A1, A2, B1, B2, C1, C2). One can choose which level he/she would like to take the examination on depending on their necessities. The levels are not progressive; to enroll for an exam of a determined level, it is not necessary to have completed the previous levels. One can also opt to enroll in multiple levels concurrently.

There are 3 categories of PLIDA certificates;

  1. PLIDA – General
  2. PLIDA Juniores – ages 13 to 18;
  3. PLIDA Commercial – Over 18 years of age, designed for people who utilize and studies Italian in commerce and finance. This diploma will be issued only one having proven     competency for three of the six levels: B1, B2, C1

The examination is comprised of 6 components as stipulated by the Common European Framework for Languages, these are:

  • Reading
  • Comprehension
  • Writing
  • Structural Competence
  • Listening comprehension
  • Speaking

Each PLIDA category can be examined in full, or alternatively one can choose to test their proficiency in  certain components only. 


PLIDA Full                                                                                   PLIDA single language component
A1, A2, B1, B2, C1, C2                                                                A1, A2, B1, B2, C1, C2

PLIDA Juniores Full                                                                     PLIDA Juniores single language component
A1, A2, B1, B2, C1                                                                      A1, A2, B1, B2, C1

PLIDA Commercial Full                                                                PLIDA Commercial single component
B2, C1                                                                                         B2, C1

The six proficiency levels assesS the following:

BASIC Italian: Amateur -  A1 (contact level) and A2 (survival level)
Independent Italian: Intermediate - B1 (threshold level) and B2 (progress level)
Proficient Italian: Fluent - C1 (efficacy level) and C2 (mastery level)